How to Delete All Transactions in QuickBooks Desktop

Deleting all the transactions in QuickBooks Desktop is a very straight forward way during the first 60 days of your subscription. For those who have crossed the first 60 days of subscription, we have other workarounds for them in this article. Let us discuss both the cases here.

Please Note: Transactions deleted in QuickBooks are not retrievable.

Ways to delete all the transactions in QuickBooks Desktop:

For users who haven’t crossed 60 days of QuickBooks subscription:

Please follow these steps:

  • First of all log into your online account of QuickBooks.
  • On the left-hand side of the screen, you will find ‘home’ button. Please click on it.
  • Now change the URL of the homepage to ‘purgecompany’ by simply replacing the word ‘homepage’ in the homepage URL to ‘purgecompany.’
  • This will open the purge company page.
  • Here QuickBooks will ask you if you wish to delete all the transactions.
  • Click yes to confirm the changes.
  • Click on ‘OK’ once the process has been complete.

For users who have crossed 60 days of QuickBooks subscription:

If you have crossed 60 days of subscription then you can delete the transactions on selective basis. Some of the ways are mentioned here:

Ways to delete selective transactions:

  • Open QuickBooks on your computer.
  • In the main menu bar please click on ‘Lists’ option.
  • From the drop down menu please click on ‘Chart of Accounts.’
  • Click on your desired account from which you wish to delete some transactions.
  • Here you will see transactions listed based on the most recent to older order.
  • Select your desired transaction/ s and then go to ‘Edit.’
  • From the drop down menu, please click on ‘Delete.’
  • Click on ‘Ok’ to confirm your action.

You can use these steps to delete as many transactions you desire.

Ways to get void the transactions in the QuickBooks:

  • Open QuickBooks.
  • In the main menu bar please click on ‘Lists.’
  • From the drop down menu please click on ‘Chart of Accounts.’
  • Select your desired account from which you wish to void the transactions.
  • Here you will see transactions listed based on the most recent to older order.
  • Select your desired transaction/ s and then go to ‘Edit.’
  • From the drop down menu please click on ‘Void’ option.
  • Click on ‘Save’ and ‘Close’ in the voided transaction.

You can use these steps to void as many transactions you desire.

Ways to delete old transactions with ‘Condense Data Tool’ in QuickBooks:

  • Launch into QuickBooks.
  • In the main menu bar please click on ‘File’ option.
  • From the drop down menu please click on ‘Utilities.’
  • Now please select ‘Condense Data’ option.
  • In the ‘Condense Data’ window, please click on the options that’s says- ‘transactions before specific date.’
  • In the ‘Remove Transactions before’ box enter your desired date.
  • Click on ‘Next.’
  • Select ‘Begin Condense’ to begin the process.

Scope of Service:

We hope this article gave you a good insight on ‘deleting all the transactions in QuickBooks.’ If you are still facing any further questions or desire a personalized QuickBooks ProAdvisor Support, our team of experts is available in your service for 24/7. You can reach us at: